The Blessing

Derrick Logan II
8 min readAug 10, 2021
Photo by Kavita Saharia

A particular word of interest amongst believers and even in secular culture is the word “blessing.” As I was growing up, I would often associate that word with money or material things that I felt could enhance my life. However as I continue to grow both in faith and in age, I see that this word is so much more than money or anything that it could buy.

It’s in who we are and in what we do with what we have.

The Blessing is in the Obedience

Blessed [fortunate, prosperous, and favored by God] is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked [following their advice and example], Nor stand in the path of sinners, Nor sit [down to rest] in the seat of scoffers (ridiculers). But his delight is in the law of the LORD, And on His law [His precepts and teachings] he [habitually] meditates day and night. And he will be like a tree firmly planted [and fed] by streams of water, Which yields its fruit in its season; Its leaf does not wither; And in whatever he does, he prospers [and comes to maturity].

‭‭Psalms‬ ‭1:1–3‬ ‭AMP‬‬

The Hebrew word for delight is chephets, which means pleasure or longing. God’s law becomes my delight, pleasure, longing. His word becomes my delight, or rather His Word [Jesus] becomes my delight. The Word becomes my nourishment, my wisdom, what allows me to flourish, and what…

--

--

Derrick Logan II

Musician y futuro economista. I’m really just here to post some encouragement every now and then.