The Problem with Faith

Derrick Logan II
5 min readMar 29, 2022
Photo by Alex Rose on Unsplash

There are problems with faith, but not the problems you’re thinking of.

Having faith places accountability on me to stand by what I believe to be true, to live out my belief in every circumstance. Having faith is to hope for the arrival of the never-before-seen substance. Having faith is to risk ridicule and failure, for it is possible that whatever I hope for may not even come during my lifetime. Will I still have faith in a future I can’t see? It’s a scary business.

However, the problem with not having faith (or enough faith) is that I would have to question why I’ve lived as long as I have. If it weren't for God’s grace, then was it by my own efforts, a series of coincidences, or by a string of dumb luck that I’m still here?

One of my best friends had to put it into perspective for me to understand. God has given me a loving family, both of my parents are still alive and still together, my sister and my brother are still here, I have a precious niece, the gift of music, the gift of playing by ear, the capacity to read notes, the gift of teaching, the gift of encouragement, beautiful golden brown complexion, gorgeous hands and feet, big brown eyes, a body that has worked nonstop for 29 years and counting to keep me alive, a house to live in, food to eat, clothes to wear, a shower to bathe in, amazing friends, and so much more. If anything, this all…

--

--

Derrick Logan II

Musician y futuro economista. I’m really just here to post some encouragement every now and then.